20 for the Next 20 2007: Where Are They Now?

We began profiling local emerging leaders in 2007 with a feature called 25 for the Next 25. Here is an update on those people, who included Brian Schatz, Peter Ho and Christine Camp.
03 22 20 For The Next 20 2007
Brian Schatz (left), Peter Ho, Olin Lagon, Christine Camp.
Gene Awakuni

Then: Chancellor, UH West O‘ahu
Now: Chancellor, Hawai‘i Tokai International College

Chrisitine Camp

Then: Managing Director, Avalon Development Group
Now: President & CEO, Avalon Development Group

Lee Cataluna

Then: Columnist, The Honolulu Advertiser
Now: Columnist, Civil Beat

Taylour Chang

Then: Screenwriter/ Filmmaker
Now: Curator, Film and Performance, Honolulu Museum of Art

Hoʻala Greevy

Then: President, Pau Spam
Now: Founder & CEO, Paubox Inc.

Peter Ho

Then: Vice Chairman and Chief Banking Officer, Bank of Hawaii
Now: President & CEO, Bank of Hawaii

Lea Hong

Then: Director, Trust for Public Land, Hawai‘i Program
Now: Associate VP, Hawaiian Islands State Director, Edmund C. Olson Trust Fellow of The Trust for Public Land

Rob Iopa

Then: President, WCIT Architecture
Now: Chairman, WCIT Architecture

Billy Kenoi

Then: Executive Assistant to the Mayor, County of Hawai‘i
Now: Deceased

River Kim

Then: Student, Punahou School
Now: Student, A.T. Still University Osteopathic Medical School

James Koshiba

Then: Principal, 3 Point Consulting
Now: Co-Founder, Hui Aloha

Cheryl Kauhane Lupenui

Then: CEO, YWCA O‘ahu
Now: President & CEO, The Kohala Center

Bert “BJ” Kobayashi

Then: President & CEO, The Kobayashi Group
Now: Chairman & CEO, BlackSand Capital

Kamani Kuala‘au

Then: Assistant VP, Bank of Hawaii
Now: Senior VP, Atalanta Sosnoff Capital LLC

Olin Lagon

Then: COO, ChipIn

Now: Founder & CTO, Shifted Energy

Cathy Luke

Then & Now: President, Loyalty Enterprises Ltd.

Louis Perez

Then & Now: CFO, Pacific American Foundation

Barbara Pleadwell

Then: Partner, Hastings & Pleadwell
Now: Deceased

Marci Waiʻaleʻale Sarson

Then: Principal, Ke Kula ‘o Samuel M. Kamakau Laboratory Public Charter School
Now: VP of Hi‘ialo Group, Kamehameha Schools

Brian Schatz

Then: Finished four terms in state House
Now: U.S. Senator

Maile Shimabukuro

Then: State Representative
Now: State Senator

Dustin Shindo

Then: President, CEO, Hoku Scientific
Now: CEO, Junify Corp.

Scott Simon

Then: Associate General Counsel, Hawaiian Electric Co.
Now: Principal Executive Coach & Consultant, Simon Leadership Group LLC

Kapua Sproat

Then: Counsel, Earthjustice
Now: Counsel, Earthjustice; Director, Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law; and Professor of Law, UH’s Richardson School of Law

Adam Wong

Then: Equity Partner, Anekona Real Estate Development
Now: Managing Partner, ACW Ventures, and Partner, WCIT Architecture


Read more about this cohort when we published 25 for the Next 25 in March 2007.



Categories: 20 for the Next 20, Leadership