The Best of Small Business: SBA Awards and SmallBiz Editor’s Choice Awards 2017

Two dozen local companies and business leaders who won this year's Hawaiʻi district awards from the federal Small Business Administration (SBA). Hawaii Business also recognizes our Editor's Choice Winners for 2017.



Brendan Roberts, President/Treasurer
Kela Cosgrave, VP/Secretary

Big Island Booch Inc.

Sponsor: Keene Fujinaka, Bank of Hawaii

Big Island Booch sold more than 700,000 bottles of kombucha in 2016 and expects to double that in 2017 as it becomes more available on other islands. “We got our organic certificate last year and that’s really helped us,” Roberts says.


Shon Pahio, President

HMP Inc. dba Business Services Hawaii

Sponsor: Laurie Correa, First Hawaiian Bank

The waste and recycling company lost its matriarch last year when Margaret Pahio died, but her son Shon says her impact remains. “She instilled her knowledge and values in our key employees. I feel like she is still guiding me from up above,” he says.


Tia Yamanaka, Owner

Tia Yamanaka LLC dba The Boutique Hilo

Sponsor: Irene Yamanaka, First Hawaiian Bank

Tia Yamanaka celebrated her store’s fifth anniversary last year with the launch of her “The Boutique Hilo” clothing line. “It sells out quick,” she says. “In Hilo, you can’t price too high, but you want to offer brands that are sought after and that’s what my boutique is known for.”


Dennis Boyd, Director for West Hawaii

Hawaii Small Business Development Center Network

Sponsor: Ida Ferris, Central Pacific Bank

Dennis Boyd is a hands-on director who runs workshops on how to write business plans and also writes columns for West Hawaii Today on small-business issues. The network’s services include consultation on business strategy and planning, and business skills training.

Categories: Lists & Awards, SBA Awards, Small Biz Editor’s Choice Awards, Small Business

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19